The Kilns › Holy Trinity Church › Windmill Road › Hillsboro House › Old High Street › Addison’s Walk › Magdalen College › University College › Bodleian Library › Keble College › The Lamb & Flag › The Eagle & Child
The Kilns was Lewis’s home in the Oxford suburb of Headington Quarry from October 10, 1930 until his death on November 22, 1963. The Kilns is currently owned and operated by the C.S. Lewis Foundation, who runs it as the C.S. Lewis Study Centre.
Holy Trinity Church
46 Quarry Road
The Kilns is in the parish of Headington Quarry and Lewis attended Holy Trinity Church there with his brother Warren. The brothers always sat in the same pew there, beside the pillar to St. George. Lewis is buried in the churchyard of Holy Trinity Church along with his brother Warren.
54 Windmill Road
June 1921 Lewis moves into the home of Janie and Maureen Moore and lived there with them until August 1, 1922. Then they moved to Hillsboro House.
14 Holyoake Road
August 1, 1922 Lewis and the Moores move from Windmill Road to Hillsboro House. They live here until they move to The Kilns on October 10, 1930.
Old High Street
10 Old High Street
August 1955 Joy, David and Douglas Gresham rent 10 Old High Street, one mile from The Kilns.
Forested path beside a stream behind Magdalen College, named after the eighteenth-century poet and essayist Joseph Addison (1672-1719). It was here that Lewis on September 19, 1931 engaged in a conversation about myth, truth and Christianity with Hugo Dyson and J.R.R. Tolkien that led almost directly to Lewis’s conversion from theism (belief in God) to Christianity.
Lewis holds a fellowship English Language and Literature from June 25, 1925 to December 3, 1954 at Magdalen College, founded in the 15th century and the most impressive of the Oxford colleges. Lewis’s rooms were in the New Buildings, erected in 1733.
Lewis entered University College Oxford, on April 26, 1917 after having won a scholarship the previous December. He did not begin studies because the outbreak of World War I. After the war he returned to University College in January 1919 taking his degree on August 4, 1922. In 1924, Lewis taught a year philosophy at the college to replace University College’s philosophy tutor E.F. Carritt.
The Bodleian Library is one of the oldest libraries in Europe and the library of the University of Oxford. It reposits one of the finest collections of C.S. Lewis manuscripts. Between 1944 and 1952 Lewis worked regularly in the Duke Humfrey’s Medieval Library on his academic book ‘English Literature in the Sixteenth Century, Excluding Drama’.
May 1917 Lewis joined the Officer’s Training Corps (OTC) and stays in Keble College until the end of his OTC course on September 25, 1918.
The Lamb & Flag
12 St. Giles
The Inklings met from 1939 to 1962 on Tuesday mornings in the Rabbit Room in The Eagle and Child pub, but they moved to the Lamb and Flag pub at the other side of the street in 1962 when the Rabbit Room was made part of the main bar.
The Eagle & Child
49 St. Giles
The Eagle and Child was the Oxford pub where the Inklings met beginning in 1939. The Inklings met in a little back room (the Rabbit Room) on Tuesday mornings until 1962 when the Rabbit Room was made part of the main bar. The group then moved to the Lamb and Flag at the other side of the street.